ISB on Facebook

Student Group

Follow @ISBiomechanics


BIOMCH-V: Online Biomechanics Lectures

Home ISB Awards and Honours

David Winter Young Investigator Awards

Sponsored by Journal of Biomechanics and Organizers of the ISB Congress


David Winter Young Investigator Awards


As of 2012, these awards are presented in honour of Professor David Winter and his pioneering contribution to the science and application of biomechanics. There are two YI awards, one for the best oral presentation (sponsored by the Journal of Biomechanics, Elsevier Science Ltd) and one for the best poster presentation (Sponsored by the organizers of the previous ISB Congress). The award recipients are offered a certificate, a monetary award of US$ 750. A short biography with an outline of the recipients’ professional background is published in the ISB Newsletter and ISB website.

 Requirements: Candidates must be the first author of an abstract submitted for presentation, have a maximum age of 35 at the first day of the congress, and must have made the major contribution to the research presented in the abstract. If selected for the final round, the candidate must personally present the paper (whether oral or poster) at the ISB-congress. The abstracts for this competition are solicited with the call for papers of the ISB Congress. Please note: ISB has a policy that an abstract or submitted for an ISB conference award is non-identical to an abstract submitted elsewhere.

Past winners of the ISB Young Investigator Awards:


YearOral presentationPoster Presentation
2013 Eng Kuan Moo (Canada) Brandon Hisey (Canada)
2011 Cameron Brown (UK) Mathieu Davis (USA)
2009  Sandra Jasinoski (South Africa)  Renate List (Switzerland)
2007   Veerle Segers (Belgium)  Philippe Malcolm (Belgium)
2005 Emma A. C. Johnson (UK) Veronica J. Santos (USA)
2003 Jeremy LaMothe ( Canada ) Keith Gordon ( USA )
2001 Steven Boyd ( Canada ) Paul Hodges ( Australia )
1999 Frances Sheehan Daniel Lambertz
1997 Kenneth Meijer (The Netherlands ) M. K. Rand .(USA)
1995 ? ?
1993 Caroline Nicol Felix Eckstein
1991 Arthur D. Kuo ( USA ) Timothy J. Koh ( USA )
1989 Oliver Mills Cheryl Johnson
1987 ? ?
1985 ? ?
1983 M.R. (Fred) Yeadon ( United Kingdom ) ?