Latest News

ISB Fellows, who have made outstanding contributions to the International Society of Biomechanics and to the field of biomechanics.

2015 Class of Fellows


Maarten Bobbert

VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands


Jill McNitt-Gray

University of Southern California, USA


Ton van den Bogert

Cleveland State University, USA


Peter Milburn

Griffith University, Australia


Brian Davis, 

University of Akron, USA


Mary Rogers

University of Maryland, USA


Veronique Feipel

Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium


Darren Stefanyshyn

University of Calgary, Canada


Walter Herzog

University of Calgary, Canada

Ron Zernicke

University of Michigan, USA



  • International Society of Biomechanics
    21 Mar at 1:21 pm

    The Muybridge award is the most prestigious bestowed by the Society. It’s given for career achievements in biomechanics. It is named after Eadweard Muybridge (1830-1904), who was the first to use cinematography for the study of human and animal movement.

    Whilst at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, he produced over 100,000 images of animals and humans in motion, capturing what the human eye could not distinguish as separate movements.
    Muybridge travelled the world perfecting his art in the name of science – no mean feat considering he did this in the mid 1800s. He spent much of his later years giving public lectures showcasing his photography and early motion picture sequences.

    It is therefore fitting that some 200 years later the 2017 recipient will be travelling to Brisbane to be presented with this very prestigious award and delivering the ISB2017 Muybridge Lecture.

    And the Winner is….
    Professor Walter Herzog

    Professor, Kinesiology, Engineering, Medicine and Veterinary Medicine Director of the Human Performance Laboratory
    Canada Research Chair,
    Tier I for Cellular and Molecular Biomechanics
    The University of Calgary
    Calgary, Canada

    Dr. Herzog did his undergraduate training in Physical Education at the Federal Technical Institute in Zurich, Switzerland (1979), completed his doctoral research in biomechanics at the University of Iowa (USA) in 1985, and completed postdoctoral fellowships in Neuroscience and Biomechanics in Calgary, Canada in 1987. Currently, Dr. Herzog is a Professor of Biomechanics with appointments in Kinesiology, Medicine, Engineering, and Veterinary Medicine, holds the Canada Research Chair for Cellular and Molecular Biomechanics, and is appointed the Killam Memorial Chair for Inter-Disciplinary Research at the University of Calgary. His research interests are in musculoskeletal biomechanics with emphasis on mechanisms of muscle contraction and the biomechanics of joints with focus on mechanisms of onset and progression of osteoarthritis. Dr. Herzog is the recipient of the Borelli Award from the American Society of Biomechanics, the Career Award from the Canadian Society for Biomechanics and is the past president of the International, American and Canadian Societies for Biomechanics and was inducted into the Royal Society of Canada in 2013.

    "It’s with great pleasure that I announce the recipient of the 2017 Muybridge Award, Professor Walter Herzog from the University of Calgary, Canada. Walter will be well known to many of you for his research into the neuromechanics of the musculoskeletal system. What makes Walter’s career especially distinctive is his ability to carry out unique experimental work at the molecular, cellular, in vitro, in vivo, animal and human levels. His work has resulted in close to 500 publications which have been cited more than 11,500 times. Walter will join a prestigious list of previous winners that include icons such as Professors Benno Nigg, Peter Huijing, Tetsuo Fukunaga, Paavo Komi, R McNeil Alexander and others. We are thrilled to announce that Walter has accepted the award and will be in Brisbane for the ISB2017 Congress to receive the award and give the associated keynote address."
    Professor Andrew Cresswell, President, International Society of Biomechanics
    25 likes 5 comments
  • International Society of Biomechanics
    13 Mar at 10:21 pm
    Upcoming deadlines that may be of interest to the biomechanics community:

    MAR 15 = Registration closes: Dynamic Walking Conference 2017

    MAR 17 = Registration opens: XXXV International Conference on Biomechanics in Sports

    MAR 20 = Register and pay in full: Dynamic Walking Conference 2017

    MAR 24 = Abstract submission deadline: 42nd Congress of the Société de Biomécanique (French speaking countries)

    MAR 27 = Last day to register at regular meeting rate: Neural Control of Movement 2017

    MAR 31 = Travel award deadline: American Society of Biomechanics Travel Grant

    MAR 31 = Abstract deadline: 13th Annual Northwest Biomechanics Symposium

    APR 1 = Early bird registration closes: 22nd Annual Congress of the European College of Sport Science

    APR 1 = Early application: 2017 School & Symposium on Advanced Neurorehabilitation

    APR 7 = Early bird registration closes: XXVI Congress of the International Society of Biomechanics

    APR 10 = Early bird registration closes: 2017 Annual Gait and Clinical Movement Analysis Society Conference

    APR 14 = Early bird registration closes (level three): XVII Brazilian Congress of Biomechanics

    APR 17 = Early bird registration closes: XXXV International Conference on Biomechanics in Sports

    APR 17 = Travel award deadline: XXXV International Conference on Biomechanics in Sports

    APR 20 = Early bird registration closes: 13th Biennial Footwear Biomechanics Symposium

    APR 21 = Early bird registration closes: 2017 International Society of Posture and Gait Research World Congress

    APR 21 = Early bird registration closes: 16th International Symposium on Computer Simulation in Biomechanics

    APR 24 = Registration closes: 13th Annual Northwest Biomechanics Symposium

    APR 30 = Travel award deadline: Delsys Student Travel Grants
  • International Society of Biomechanics
    1 Mar at 2:32 pm
    Notification to Authors = Mar 23, 2017
    Early Bird Registration = Apr 7, 2017

  • International Society of Biomechanics
    1 Mar at 12:03 am
    A reminder for students travelling to the 41st Annual Meeting of the American Society of Biomechanics in Boulder, Colorado later this year - travel award applications are due March 15!
  • International Society of Biomechanics
    21 Feb at 7:15 pm

    ONE WEEK LEFT!!!! (due Feb 28):
    The Technical Group Meeting Travel Grant Program (TGTG)

    This grant is offered to the student members of the ISB attending the affiliated Technical Group meetings. It will be offered to help reduce the travel expenses to attend meetings of the Footwear Biomechanics Group (FBG) or the Technical Group on Computer Simulation (TGCS). By virtue of the need to move the meetings among different continents, it is often very difficult for students to afford to travel to the meetings or to pay the registration fee if they can travel. However, we will offer travel grants (up to $US 500) to the students who will be presenting their research results at the aforementioned Technical Group meetings.

    Fore more info - email or see the website....