International Society of Biomechanics
Gold sponsor

Executive Council

The ISB is governed by its Executive Council composed of the officers and council members who are elected by mail ballot for two year terms. They represent countries from throughout the world and various scientific areas within biomechanics. The council, which meets annually, provides leadership for the continued development of the Society. Many on-going activities are performed by Council appointed sub-committees such as publications, standards and terminology, award nominations, and others. The quarterly Newsletter serves to inform the members of current and future events and developments.

Please contact any member of the Executive Council via our webmaster for further information.



Toni Arndt

Professor in Biomechanics
Swedish School of Sport and Health Sciences, GIH
Stockholm, Sweden


Toni Arndt

Past President and Archives Officer:

Joe Hamill

Professor Emeritus, Kinesiology
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, USA

Joe Hamill


Alberto Leardini

Istituto Ortopedico Rizzoli
Centro di Ricerca Codivilla-Putti
Bologna, Italy

 alberto leardini

Secretary-General (Appointed):

Brent Edwards

Assistant Professor
Faculty of Kinesiology
University of Calgary
Calgary, Canada

 Brent Edwards

Publication Officer:

Glen Lichtwark

The University of Queensland 
School of Human Movement Studies 
Brisbane, Australia

glen lichtwark

Student Representative:

Megan Smidebush

Department of Kinesiology
Mississippi State University
Mississippi, USA

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

megan smidebush

Awards Officer:

Tim Derrick

Department of Kinesiology
Iowa State University
Iowa, USA

tim derrick

Affiliated Societies:

Jennifer Shin

Department of Mechanical Engineering
Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST)
Daejeon, South Korea
 jennifer shin

Technical Groups Officer:

Elizabeth Clarke

Senior Research Fellow
Kolling Institute of Medical Research
University of Sydney
Sydney, Australia


Elizabeth Clark

Student Awards Officer:

Katherine Boyer

School of Public Health and Health Sciences
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Massachusetts, USA

katherine boyer

Informatics Officer:

Thor Besier

Auckland Bioengineering Institute
The University of Auckland
Auckland, New Zealand

Thor Besier

Economically Developed Countries (EDC):

Daniel Hahn

Faculty of Sport Sciences
Ruhr Universit├Ąt Bochum
Ruhr, Germany

daniel hahn

Education Officer:

Jacqueline Alderson

School of Human Sciences
University of Western Australia
Perth, Australia

 jacqueline alderson

Education Officer:

Dario Cazzola

Department for Health
University of Bath
Bath, UK
 dario cazzola

Sponsorship Officer:

Janet Dufek

Department of Kinesiology and Nutrition Sciences
University of Nevada
Las Vegas, Nevada

janet dufek

Social Media Officer (appointed):

Melissa Boswell

Stanford University
Bioengineering Department
Stanford, USA

 Melissa Boswell

South American Representative (appointed):

Felipe Carpes

Center for Health Sciences
The Federal University of Pampa
Laboratory of Neuromechanics
Uruguaiana, Brazil

foto felipe2

Asian Representative (appointed):

Li Li

School of Health & Kinesiology

Georgia Southern University
Statesboro, USA 

Li Li


Graeme Wood

Perth, Australia 

graeme wood

Shadow Treasurer (newly appointed):

Andrew Cresswell

The University of Queensland 
School of Human Movement Studies 
Brisbane, Australia