International Society of Biomechanics
Gold sponsor

Carlo de Luca Emerging Scientist Award

Proudly sponsored by Delsys

The Carlo de Luca Emerging Scientist Award is in honor of Professor Carlo de Luca and his pioneering contribution to the science and application of biomechanics, in particular in the area of electromyography. This award honors excellence in graduate research in the area of motor control and electromyography and is associated with a monetary award of $2,500 USD. The winners are selected prior to the ISB Congress and will present in the award’s session.

Requirements: Candidates must be at an early stage of their scientific career and to be eligible must not have received their PhD degree before the previous ISB Congress (two years prior to the Congress where the award will be given). Current graduate students, including MSc level students, are also eligible. Please send your applications to the Awards Officer. Your conference abstract must be in the area of motor control/electromyography. You are also requested to submit 1) an up-to-date curriculum vitae, 2) PDF copies of at least two of your refereed publications in the area of motor control / electromyography and 3) an interpretative summary describing the contribution(s) to the field for each article.

Please note: You are also required to submit an abstract simultaneously to the ISB congress organizers. ISB has a policy that an abstract submitted for an ISB conference award is non-identical to an abstract submitted elsewhere.


Winners of the Emerging Scientist Award:
2023 Marco Romanato (France)
2021 Tom Buurke (Belgium)
2019 Adrian Lai (Canada)
2017 Alessio Gallina
2015 Shota Haigo (Japan)
2013 Geoffrey Power (Canada)
2011 Taian Vieira (Italy)
- -